

- 1. Call to order by President/Chair Brent Ronning at 7:09 pm and welcome to special guest Mike Andrews, President of Echo Players in Qualicum, BC.
- 2. Adoption of the Agenda;

Motion by Melanie Anderson to adopt the agenda. 2nd by Carrera Schroeder. All in favour. Motion carried.

3. Adoption of minutes of 2013 Annual General Meeting:

Secretary Janet Deakin read the 2013 minutes.

M/ Carrera Schroeder to adopt the 2013 AGM minutes. 2nd by Sandy Bouleau. All in favour. Motion carried.

- 4. Business arising from the Minutes: no business
- 5. President's Annual Report; (attached)

M/ Carrera Schroeder to accept the President's report as presented. 2nd by Colleen Brooks. All in favour. Motion carried.

6. Treasurer's Annual Report including:

Presentation of Year End Financial Statements

General Account: \$13,605.44 Gaming Account: \$11,433.85

M/ Peter Wienold, 2nd by Garry Cameron to adopt the unaudited Financial Statements for July 1 2013 - June 30, 2014 as presented. All in favour. Motion carried.

Brent has accepted Bookkeeper Colleen Brooks resignation from her position effective immediately. The 2014-2015 Board will address the fact that the board will be moving the bookkeeping tasks to the administrative role. We'll be saving wages on a bookkeeper but increasing hours for the admin assistant.

Question from the floor; Melanie Anderson asks: "Is the gaming account fund limited to youth programs only?"

Brent's **Response**: The application to AVGA included a plan not only to support youth programs, but also to help offset the costs of BC Hydro, Fortis Gas and Shaw (our most expensive utilities).

Peter Wienold commented that the account ledgers were changed to a business model to more accurately reflect more specific spending habits. Colleen Brooks also spoke to that issue. (Financial report attached)

7. Annual Committee Reports:

Glee, Wee Glee and Adult Choir Year End Report from Janet Schlackl attached. Janet Schlakl had the floor to add to her report:

The Scotiabank Raffle has raised over \$1200 in the draw held at Scotiabank last Friday, September 25, 2014. Janet Schlackl hopes to use funds toward acquiring new costumes.

The new adult choir consists of a mix of members and new members. On behalf of the board and membership, Brent thanked Derek Burke, Janet Schlakl and Sandy Bouleau for their hard work and contributions to the startup of the PPDS Adult Choir.

Teresa presented a verbal report on the "STAGES" Program.

First ever advanced class presented the full play "Little Women". This season the advanced class will present a murder mystery requiring a Stage Manager and Props Master and Teresa puts out a call to members for crew. Her Stages program is full this year, with one person on a waiting list for a complement of 30 participants currently in the programs.

2013-2014 IMPROV Report, James Brook (via email):

10 monthly shows performed, partnership with Nights Alive to provide IMROV to a new group of participants. 6 regular members – recruiting underway. James would like to partner with STAGES. (See attached report).

Motion to accept reports by Elliot Drew and seconded by Colleen Brooks, all in favour, motion carried.

- 8. Other Business: none
- 9. Assumption of the Chair by the Nominating Committee Chairperson Cody Taylor

Cody assumed the chair and reported all positions vacant. Cody named Janet Deakin as Election Secretary and presented the slate of members standing for election.

Motion from Melanie Anderson to accept the slate, **2**nd by Jean Kanngiesser, all in favour. Motion carried.

Scrutineers: Birgitte (Gittan) Klemetsrud and Vanessa Schoen

10. Election of Officers and Directors including;

Nominations and Results:

President: Incumbent Brent Ronning standing for re-election. 3 calls for nominations from the floor. No other nominations from the floor. Brent Ronning elected by acclamation.

Vice-president: Peter Wienold standing for election. 3 calls for nominations from the floor. No other nominations from the floor. Peter Wienold elected by acclamation.

Secretary: Incumbent Janet Deakin standing for re-election. 3 calls for nominations from the floor. No other nominations from the floor. Janet Deakin elected by acclamation.

Treasurer: Colleen Brooks standing for election. 3 calls for nominations from the floor. No other nominations from the floor. Colleen Brooks elected by acclamation

Directors at Large:

Nominations:

John Kenchenten, Sandy Bouleau, Chris Arthurs and Carrera Schroeder all stand for reelection.

Melissa Lowe, Teresa Mulligan and Elliot Drew stand for election.

3 calls for nominations from the floor. No other nominations from the floor.

All who stood for re-election or election were elected by acclamation.

11. Installation of the newly elected Board:

Cody Taylor passed the meeting back to President Brent Ronning. First meeting of the newly elected board set for Thursday, October 9, 2014 at 7pm.

- 12. Further business:
- a) Peter Wienold Report:
 - Peter Wienold updated the members on his Play Reading series.
 - Mike from Echo Players reported that sadly their One Act Play series has been cancelled this
 year due to lack of participation, in part due to the teacher's strike and lack of entries from high
 school drama programs.
 - Presentation of the Theater BC North Island Zone Festival plan for May 2015. PPDS entry will be "Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolf?". Final slate of entries will be available in February after registration closes. Crew required for PPDS Festival Committee. (attached details) Peter and Brent will co-chair the Festival. Peter will put out a call for volunteers.
- b) Presentation of the Doreen Anderson Volunteer of the Year Award:

Terms of reference in selecting the recipient was developed by Peter Wienold, accepted by the board and implemented this year. Brent presented a brief bio and Doreen Anderson's contributions to PPDS.

Award Nominees: Carrera Schroeder, Elliot Drew, Janet Schlackl, Nathan Satterlee, Peter Kulich.

Brent expressed his heartfelt gratitude for the contributions made by each nominee. Janet Deakin read an email nomination from Nathan Satterlee who eloquently shared his reasons for nominating Brent Ronning and Elliot Drew. Brent and Sandy Bouleau presented this year's Doreen Anderson Volunteer of the Year Award to **Elliot Drew**.

13. Adjournment: **Motion** from Teresa Drew to adjourn. Meeting adjourned by President Brent Ronning at 8:15 pm.

PPDS/jd